Posted in Crafts, Personal

My Hamartia

I get all of these great ideas for projects and crafts and DIY’s that I want to accomplish. I rush full speed head-on into my project with nothing but tunnel vision until I see it through. I get all these visions in my head and get so excited to begin. I run to the thrift stores and craft stores and pick up all the items I need. But the problem, you see, is that I don’t know what to do with said projects when they are complete. Sometimes I think I will sell my creations, but that puts a lot of pressure on me to make something specifically designed for someone else and when something you love doing becomes something stressful, you don’t love doing it anymore. I don’t want that to happen. I end up with all of these lovely yet useless (to me) things. On one hand, I want to keep my creations so I can marvel at a job well done and pat myself on the back. On the other hand, I don’t want to clutter my home with things I won’t use and don’t need. Do you see the problem?

…and I think, in the story of my life, with me being the heroine that would be my downfall, that would be my hamartia. To have an overwhelming passion and desire to craft beautiful things from my hands and my imagination, but then what? Don’t gift them? Don’t sell them? Don’t use them? Hide them away in a plastic storage bin in my garage?

That’s not bringing a dream to life, that’s suffocating a dream and I refuse to commit dream homicide.

hamartia

Author:

I'm a forty-something river goddess, music enthusiast, campground manager, wife, momma to nine, and doting grandmother to four... Mostly, I'm just a gal that has a lot to say.

One thought on “My Hamartia

Leave a Reply

