Posted in Crafts, Home, Personal

Home Is Where You Hang Your Hat

My husband and I both have an affinity for hats. He has 2 super cool vintage Stetsons that he found at the Flea Market (naturally.) I have an obsession with giving every item in our house a home, including said hats. I decided that I wanted a hat wall in our bedroom and knew just where I wanted them, but not how to hang them. All the wall mounted hat racks I found online were horizontal and I wanted vertical, so I went to Pinterest for ideas. I was able to find some really cool photos of hat displays, but none of them told me how to hang them on the wall. My friend and office mate Shelia suggested push pins, but my husband would murder me in my sleep if I stuck a pin through his Stetson hats and I have a pretty rad felt Free People hat he bought me that I wasn’t willing to turn into a voodoo doll. In my mind, I imagined the hats on the wall, but the hanger not visible.

They say that necessity is the mother of invention and this hat wall became not only a necessity, but an obsession. When I get an idea in my head, I obsess over it until I find a way to get it done. I am also frugal. The idea of spending $10 to $30 per peg wasn’t going to fly, plus my husband is never thrilled with the idea of putting large holes in the wall. Basically, I needed to invent something from items I already had that would discreetly hang my hats and not put a hole in them or in the wall. Shelia and I “racked” our brains and looked around the office for ideas.

The answer was right in front of me. Literally. Because I’m frugal, I bring my lunch to work with me every day, usually leftovers from last night’s dinner. I also sometimes bring sandwiches and chips. I use a clothespin instead of a chip clip on my bags because… I’m frugal. Seriously, you can get a package of 36 wooden clothespins from the Dollar Tree for $1 here. There they were, 5 wooden clothespins clipped to my desk organizer that was also holding about 400 brightly colored push pins. I grabbed one of each, clipped the clothespin to the push pin and voila! instead wall peg that would cause minimal damage. We wondered if it would be able to bear the weight of a hat so I promptly went downstairs to the camp store, grabbed a straw cowboy hat and tested that sucker out. Success! I put all my goodies in a Ziplock baggie, excited to get home.

Last night at the table, my husband asked if I minded if he went for a skate after dinner. The only thing on my mind was the hat wall, so of course I encouraged him to go!
Which, by the way, he posted this to Facebook afterwards and I loved it so much, I feel it’s worth sharing:

“Skated an hour and then ran 6 full court 4 on 4 games with kids less than half my age tonight, kid that was holding me asked me before I left how old I was. Told him I was turning 44 this year, he called me a liar, walked him to the car and showed him my ID. He said, “damn you’re older than my dad!” Moral of the story is? keep moving, if you can, don’t be that guy who use to talk about how he was in the game, be that guy, play the game, until you can’t play anymore, gonna do that with all I got too…
Tomorrow we’re all back in the game.”

So, while my husband was in his game, I was on my game. I used Gorilla Glue for reinforcement with the clothespin. I started thinking that the wall would be awesome with the hats on display, but what would happen when he was actually wearing one? I would have a clothespin sticking out of my wall with a bright push pin glued to it and I just couldn’t handle that. I wanted it to look good with my “Sea Seeker” beachy bedroom so I decided to use the leftover brushed nickel spray paint from my fairytale dresser make-over to jazz up my frugal invention.

20160802_215625(Granted, the lighting is bad so you can’t truly see how great it looks in brushed nickel, but still, you get the gist.)

I wasn’t done there. While waiting for the paint to dry, I rummaged through the garage in search of something to store all the DVD’s that were haphazardly strewn about the TV armoire. I was able to locate a cool aluminum milk crate. I don’t know where my husband found it, but I loved it and thought it would make a nice addition to the room. Once the crate was clean and the DVD’s were stored, I checked on my clothespins and they were dry. Hallelujah! It was finally time to hang the hats.

20160802_215456

I’m pretty happy with the way it looks and I love organizing my home. I’m already looking forward to my next project: a DIY flip-flop bin. So while I’m over here on my game, plotting and planning a creative and frugal way to store all my flops, just remember, today is a new day and we’re all back in the game – so get to playing.

Author:

I'm a forty-something river goddess, music enthusiast, campground manager, wife, momma to nine, and doting grandmother to four... Mostly, I'm just a gal that has a lot to say.

Leave a Reply

