Posted in Crafts, Family, Home, Personal

DIY Coffee Can Christmas Tree

I like my coffee like I like my men, strong and dark. Jose and I go through 2 or 3 cans a month. I used to just put them in the recycling bin until I realized we were going through so many, I should save them for a future project. Once my pantry began filling up with coffee cans, I decided it was high time to put them to use, but how? I searched Pinterest and Google for ideas and I liked the lantern idea (here.) I imagined letting all the kids make a pattern on paper and then Jose and I punching the pattern out with nails on the cans. I still might do that!
finished22It was Saturday, December 6th. We had all four of Jose’s kids and decided to walk downtown for the Farmers Market. We had a nice lunch at Blue Moose Pizza, spent an hour perusing through the Downtown Antique Mall, picked up dessert to-go from Naegelin’s Bakery, walked to the Main Plaza to enjoy those treats, JOSE PROPOSED TO ME IN THE GAZEBO, we walked to Got Toys to say hello to my daughter Dallas and to show off my ring, then started walking home. When we walked by the window of Henne Hardware, we saw the most awesome PVC Christmas tree with ornaments inside. I didn’t get a photo, but it looked something like this:
marcie-tree-001x-md110644_horizSuper freakin’ cool, right? We all admired it for a few minutes when Jose said, “We could make that with all those coffee cans you’re saving!” And that’s when my wheels started turning….

A few days later, after all the engagement excitement, I finally pulled my head out of the clouds and decided to come back down to Earth. I took out all the cans to see how many I had and to set up the layout.

This is where it all began.
This is where it all began.

Once I counted how many I had, I did a dry run of my layout.

013I fell in love with it already! Now that I had my layout done, I washed and dried all the cans. Don’t skip this step. Next, I decided to spray paint them with a green glitter paint, but quickly decided against that for many reasons, namely… fuck glitter. Secondly, if I did want to reuse these in the lantern project, that would suck. I decided to get some awesome Christmas wrapping paper and cover each can with paper. Turns out, that was an inexpensive and easy part of the project. I chose a silver foil paper (taped on) and it blended in well with the cans. This is what they looked like covered:

023

Now that I had all the cans covered, I had Jose drill a single hole through the bottom of each can. I decided it would look better if I lit this sucker up! Once the holes were all drilled, I set to work hot gluing the cans together. It was much easier for the hot glue to adhere to the wrapping paper I used and I think I would have struggled if I had spray-painted. Once everything was together, I took a string of white lights and inserted one into each hole. I used masking tape on the backside to hold the lights in place. I was finally getting to the end, but as I completed each step, I was getting happier and happier with the results! The only thing left to do was hot glue the bulbs inside. I used all red to go with my decor, but they were gloss, matte, and glitter. (I know, I know… fuck glitter. Whatever)

FINALLY I WAS DONE!
I put it up in my bedroom window and loved it! What do you think?
025windowAlways,
~Miss Liz

Author:

I'm a forty-something river goddess, music enthusiast, campground manager, wife, momma to eight, and doting grandmother to three... Mostly, I'm just a gal that has a lot to say.

3 thoughts on “DIY Coffee Can Christmas Tree

Leave a Reply

