Posted in Family, Home, Personal, Relationships

Little 15

Little 15

Fifteen. I remember it vaguely. Freshman year of high school,  learning your way around. Just starting or getting through puberty. Too old for cartoons, too young to drive. Trying to fit in and trying stand out at the same time. There are no real milestones there. It’s not like there is much difference from 14, but oh so close to 16! It’s such a tease.
It’s useless to think you’ll get along with your siblings, until you actually do. Getting along with your parents is laughable. School work is for the birds. Then of course, there is young love. Ahhhh… it’s so sweet, it’ll make your teeth hurt. The boy that breaks your heart at 15 will hurt you more than the man that breaks your heart at 35. He will stay with you forever. The bonds you form with your classmates will break at graduation (or sooner) and some will last until the end of time. I remember it being wonderful and awful at the same time. I was often lost, confused, and felt out of place. But then again, who wasn’t?

I’ll tell you who. My youngest daughter, Mikayla.
She may be the last to be born, but she is usually the first for everything. This girl knows no fear. She is like an Israeli soldier in Lebanon. She is brave, bold, clever, intense, confident, talented, loving, caring, and giving. She is also the most inwardly and outwardly beautiful girl you will ever meet. She has an IDGAF attitude wrapped in nurturing arms. She is a born leader, her older brother and sister would follow her into war. So would I. She is 15 going on 25 at times, at others she is 15 going on 5.

Today, she turns 15 and I wouldn’t trade places with her if I could (and I doubt she would trade with me if she could.) There will be no ‘Freaky Friday’ shit happening here. I admire her for everything that she is and everything I know that she will become.

Although she woke up sick, she braved the day (as I knew she would) and is now ready for this evenings celebrations. The plan is to have a girls night out with Dallas, get mani’s/pedi’s at the spa, go out for hibachi & sushi, and finish the night off with an Odd Future cake and candles. I’m sure there will be plenty of photos taken throughout the night and I will post those later.

For now, I would like to send the biggest, brightest, and best birthday wishes to my girl, Mikayla. Happy Little 15, Killah! You’re one of kind and I’m proud to call you mine.

“She wants to see with your eyes, she wants to smile with your smile.
She wants a nice surprise, every once in a while.
Little 15”

Author:

I'm a forty-something river goddess, music enthusiast, campground manager, wife, momma to eight, and doting grandmother to three... Mostly, I'm just a gal that has a lot to say.

Leave a Reply

