Posted in Music, Personal, Television

Ode to the Jingle

jingles

When Kodak started using “Pictures of You” by The Cure for their commercials, I wasn’t so much offended as I was annoyed. I love that song. I have a history and memories with that song. But now it’s ruined. I’m not overcome with nostalgia when that song pops up on my iPod now, I’m overcome with nausea. Why? Because, I want to think of days gone by in a good way when I hear it, not think of Kodak. Then came that laundry detergent commercial using “Pop Goes the World” by Men Without Hats and I was borderline angry. I mean, sure, I’m glad that these songs are getting exposure and if that means a whole new generation of people will have an appreciation for awesome music, then that’s a win, but really, what happened to advertising execs actually using their brains & education to come up with something original to sell a product? Personally, I think it’s a cop-out to use a song that will pull at the heart strings of your target demographic in order to sell more product. DO YOUR DAMN JOB and create an advert on your own without piggy-backing off of others successes!
…And on that note, I’ve created a little poem in honor of the jingle (an antiquated notion)

Ode to the Jingle

From artists like Lennon, Joplin, and Jason Mraz
to bands like the Stones, Erasure, and Yaz.
The Target commercial with a tune from the Go-Go’s
is insulting at best, and so full of no-no’s.
To the makers of the ad for auto insurance,
You must accept my hearty assurance,
That song is about cheating
Not dexterity fleeting.
So leave the Human League
on classic radio for repeating.
Sailor Jerry rum
is only ho-hum,
Using the Misfits,
is undeniably dumb.
I don’t blame the artists,
I don’t blame the band.
I blame the marketing jerks.
That took this all out of hand.
I don’t want to associate crappy products
with my favorite tunes.
So I offer a solid “FUCK YOU”
to those advertising buffoons.

Author:

I'm a forty-something river goddess, music enthusiast, campground manager, wife, momma to nine, and doting grandmother to four... Mostly, I'm just a gal that has a lot to say.

5 thoughts on “Ode to the Jingle

Leave a Reply

