Posted in Personal, Relationships

The Oak Tree

There is nothing in the world like knowing you are not facing your battles alone. I received the most beautiful card with a lovely and poignant handwritten message inside today from a true friend. It came out of the blue and hit me like a ton of bricks (in a good way!) I feel lighter and lifted. I feel stronger. I feel like I can do this, face this, get over this, and move onward and upward with my life.
My friend told me that I am amazing and an inspiration…
Thank you, but it is YOU who is amazing. YOU inspire ME.
I love you, girl! xoxo

If you have a loved one that is feeling down and you are unable to be there for them in person, take the time to pen a note and drop it in the mail. Let me tell you, getting something like that out of the blue is a zillion times better than any inspirational quote pic you post on their Facebook wall.

This is the story of the Mighty Oak on my card and I love it. I hope you do, too.

A mighty wind blew night and day.
It stole the oak tree’s leaves away.
Then snapped its boughs and pulled its bark
Until the oak was tired and stark.
But still the oak tree held its ground
While other trees fell all around.
The weary wind gave up and spoke,
“How can you still be standing, Oak?”
The oak tree said, “I know that you
can break each branch of mine in two,
carry every leaf away,
shake my limbs, and make me sway.
But I have roots stretched in the earth,
growing stronger since my birth.
You’ll never touch them, for you see,
they are the deepest part of me.
Until today, I wasn’t sure
of just how much I could endure.
But now I’ve found, with thanks to you,
I’m stronger than I ever knew.”
-Johnny Ray Ryder, Jr

Thank you, JT, thank you so much.

Because of you

Author:

I'm a forty-something river goddess, music enthusiast, campground manager, wife, momma to nine, and doting grandmother to four... Mostly, I'm just a gal that has a lot to say.

One thought on “The Oak Tree

Leave a Reply

