Posted in Music, Personal, Relationships

10 Songs That Make Me Cry

Sad songs say so much… it’s true! Whether you are broken-hearted or madly in love, have lost a friend, or just need a good cry, we all have certain go-to songs to set the mood. Here is my list of “good cry” songs, in no particular order. Some of these you have seen on other lists, but hopefully I will have introduced you to songs that you’ve never heard and will immediately love! (and cry)

Honorable Mention: Hurt – Johnny Cash

 

10. Beth/Rest – Bon Iver
I stumbled upon this song while creating a playlist of songs that had any variation of my name (Elizabeth) in it.

 

9. Fuck You Aurora – Alkaline Trio
My friend Aaron recommended this song to me, as he lives in Aurora, Illinois just outside Chicago. (Home of Wayne’s World) This song apparently recounts the story of the death of his friend in a drunk driving car accident in Aurora while the singer was behind the wheel. Some of the lyrics are so relatable to me. One line in particular, “You have to be the cutest grave digger I’ve ever seen” I often sing to my friend Stewy, who among other things, has been a grave digger and is also very cute. I hope you enjoy.

 

 

8. Erase It Again – Sparta
One of El Paso, Texas’ finest groups, Sparta has some incredible rock music, but this ballad is so encouraging. They are basically saying, it’s not the end of the world! Sure, you’ve fucked up, but today is new a day. You can start over again. “These cuts don’t scar.” I love that line.
*Also of interest, lead vocalist Jim Ward and Tony Hajjar (drummer) were both in the incredible band ‘At The Drive-In.’ My friend Stacey reports that her husband, Joel lost his pants at a Drive-In show in Austin once!

 

 

7. Love Remains – Red Wanting Blue
If you have yet to be introduced to the awesomeness of Red Wanting Blue, you have now! Most of their stuff is pure gold. I was lucky enough to get a copy of ‘From The Vanishing Point’ before it was released and immediately loved it. Special thanks to Sandy Pants and our friends from the Midwest Lori, Lindsey, Jacque for the hook-up!
Red Wanting Blue – Love Remains – click this for the soundcloud version after you finish the blog, because it doesn’t open a new window. (Send me a comment if you know how to fix this!)

6. Don’t Take Me For Granted – Social Distortion
What’s that you say? How can SoCal punk rock band Social D produce a song to drive me to tears? Listen to the dedication to founding guitarist Dennis Danell who passed in 2000 and how it really affected Mike Ness. I cry every single time I hear this song.

 

 

5. Fade Into You – Mazzy Star
Just to slow things down a notch, I bring you this lovely tune from the notoriously shy yet most awesome folk singer your ears will ever have the privilege of listening to: Hope Sandoval. Raise your hand if you remember making out with your man with this song playing in the background. (In retrospect, I should never married that guy.)

 

 

4. Only You – Yaz
I know I’ve written about Yaz (Yazoo in the UK) a million times before, but ‘Upstairs At Eric’s’ is still one of my favorite albums of all times. Off that album, we have my favorite love song, “Only You.”
*Note: This song was played at the very end of the movie ‘Can’t Hardly Wait.’ That BLEW MY MIND!

 

 

3. Love Will Tear Us Apart – Joy Division
This one is too personal for me to share why I shed the tears.

 

 

2. Sometimes Always – The Jesus and Mary Chain
Here we see Hope Sandoval making another appearance on this short list, this time not with Mazzy Star, but with my absolute favorite shoe-gazers, J&MC! Have you ever loved someone so much that no matter how many times they left you, you know you’ll always take them back? (1:53 to 1:56- BEST 3 seconds of the song. Dig it.)

 

 

1. Sometime Around Midnight – Airborne Toxic Event
Without exaggeration, I’ve listened to this song at least 500 times. Sometimes, I just set it on repeat. I think we all relate to this song, I know I’ve been there. Proof positive: love hurts. I love how this newish indie rock band blends orchestral arrangements so beautifully. (2:59 – 3:04, best 5 seconds of the song, imo.)

 

And there you have, my Top Ten List of Songs That Make Me Cry. I’m very interested in hearing about yours. Please share them below.

Author:

I'm a forty-something river goddess, music enthusiast, campground manager, wife, momma to nine, and doting grandmother to four... Mostly, I'm just a gal that has a lot to say.

4 thoughts on “10 Songs That Make Me Cry

  1. Hmmmm asking us to post about songs… wow… This could get fun. Dont know if the reply section allows HTML but we shall see

    Ok, My top 10,

    10. Gear and Dust – Jason Boland and The Stragglers
    This tune is about meth making, using, and selling. Lost a lot of friends to that garbage. Nuff Said.

    9. Damage Plan – Breathing New Life
    At around 36 seconds in is when madman Nathan Hale walked on stage during a performance, grabbed Dimebag Darrel and put 7 rounds into the back of his head,

    8. Don Williams, I Believe In You.
    One of my dad’s favorites.

    7. (I am going) Where I’ve Never Been – Randy Travis
    The first time I heard this track was at Magnolia Cowboy Church. I had to play it while blubbering like an idiot. Nailed the guitar solo though… Reminds me of my sister’s journey from life into death.

    6. Sunny Day In Gruene – The Badlands Band.
    I have only listened to this song a hand full of times since my dying sister asked me to play wit for her before she went into a coma.

    5. Mary – Jason Boland & The Stragglers
    You will see a couple more boland tunes. This tune makes me think of everyone who is still suffering and be grateful for being able to pull myself out of the depths of full blown alcohol and narcotic addiction.

    4. The Band Is Playing Too Slow – Chris Knight
    Reminds me of my marriage crumbling and while I have turned the corner, it is still one of the saddest songs I have ever heard. – Chris Knight is so obscure I cant find a video for it right now

    3. When I Get Where I’m Going – Brad Paisley & Dolly Parton
    When my ex-wife’s step father passed away, she put together this amazing picture montage to this song. That man did a lot for he. A lot of stuff my own father never did. I will be eternally grateful to the good lord above for allowing him to be in my life.

    2. Outlaw Band – Jason Boland & The Stragglers
    The live record High In The Rockies had not even been released for a month though I had a copy long before. As I was driving to my sisters funeral, this song came on and as I was pulling up to the church, the outro solo was being played and as it is the end of the disc, it was kinda like the end of a season for my life if that makes sense.

    1. Mr. Bojangles – Jerry Jeff Walker
    My Border Collie that I had to euthanize in January was named Ms. Banjo Bojangles. When I first saw her at the Arlington Tx Animal Services shelter, she was around 6 months old. She had been returned and was due to be euthanized the next day. When she first saw me, she pranced her front legs and spun in a circle while “wobbling” her head. That reminded me of the lyric in the song that goes:
    I met him in a cell in New Orleans I was
    down and out
    He looked to me to be the eyes of age
    as he spoke right out
    He talked of life, talked of life, he laughed
    clicked his heels and slapped his leg and stepped

    He said his name “Bojangles” and he danced a lick
    across the cell
    He grabbed his pants and spread his stance,
    Oh he jumped so high and then he clicked his heels
    He let go a laugh, let go a laugh
    and shook back his clothes all around
    So her name was Bojangles. I got the funniest looks when talking to her, and Megan eventually told me that she needed a new name. Begrudgingly I accepted the fact and we came up with Banjo. I miss my little girl.

    Like

  2. I forgot to add my honorable mention – Punk Rock Girl – The Dead Milkmen
    One of my most badass friends is who I think of when I hear this. If something were to happen to her when she was no longer around, yeah this would have me blubbering

    Like

  3. Hello! I just would like to give an enormous thumbs up for the great info you might have here on this post. I will probably be coming back to your blog for even more soon.

    [url=http://nfljerseys2012.is-best.net]NFL Jerseys[/url]

    Like

Leave a Reply

