Posted in Culture, Personal

Read Between The Lines…

I’ve never had a problem writing in books. I like to highlight passages that mean something to me. I love to pen a note in the inner cover and pass it on for someone else to enjoy. Something I have NEVER done is deface the print. I always felt like if someone was willing to give all they could, record their thoughts and have it published, who was I to take that away? If I had a book out, I would want everything I wrote to be easily read by every person that comes across that book. Until now….
I’ve seen this done before in magazines and newspapers, but it truly never occurred to me to do it in a book. I’ve rethought my previous notions. I think as an author, you would want someone to take what you’ve given them and let them run with it. Whether their interpretation is different from your intentions, if it inspires them in any positive way, well, that’s an accomplishment.
I’ve warmed to the idea of “blackout poetry” and plan to stop by a used book store this afternoon and give it a whirl! I don’t want to rush it or force it, and knowing me, I’ll probably end up reading the entire book while searching for the perfect page, so don’t expect an update soon, but when I do make poetry between the lines, I’ll post the pics for you all to see.

Always,
Miss Liz

 

“Black Out Poetry” using old newspapers or books.

 

“In my nature is one who wishes to know himself; I am a sleeping though that does not cease thinking. I am the dream that I see and feel I am.”

Author:

I'm a forty-something river goddess, music enthusiast, campground manager, wife, momma to nine, and doting grandmother to four... Mostly, I'm just a gal that has a lot to say.

Leave a Reply

