Posted in Personal, Relationships

Poe Knows

I remember when myspace first became a thing and we were all suddenly reunited with friends and acquaintances. I had gone to several different high schools in 3 different states. It took one person from each school to find me and then, BAM! every other classmate was sending the friend request. I remember when it was all fresh and new and being so excited to catch up with people and relive our “glory days.” Occasionally, you would get a request from a familiar name, but have no memory of that person. (Or did that only happen to me?) A guy from my sophomore class sent me a request and I accepted it. I only know he was from that class because our only mutual friends were from there. He sent me a message asking all the typical things… how are you? married? kids? job? health? Okay then, nice chatting with you… then you rarely speak/message again, yet you see their posts in your feed. I thought this would be one of those things. But it wasn’t. He sent me a long message regaling stories of how much my friendship meant to him. He remembers me being kind to him when so many others were not. He remembers lengthy discussions about art, poetry, journalism, writing, and theater. (We must have shared one of those classes together.) He told me I had inspired him to read and write and more. He went on to say that my love for Edgar Allen Poe has always stayed with him and every time ‘The Raven’ comes up in discussion, he is reminded of me.

It has been years since he shared this with me and sadly, we haven’t really spoken since then. I wish that I could remember him from high school. I feel guilty for not knowing when he so clearly remembers me. Knowing that I impacted his life so greatly means more to me than I can say. Though I don’t remember him from high school, I do remember him from myspace. I want to tell him now that it was him that impacted me. Every time I come across something Poe, I think of him. I wish he knew how that one singular message affected me. Funny how thing turn around like that…

I can relate.
Author:

I'm a forty-something river goddess, music enthusiast, campground manager, wife, momma to eight, and doting grandmother to three... Mostly, I'm just a gal that has a lot to say.

4 thoughts on “Poe Knows

  1. Amen. It is a very humbling feeling when I recieve messages like that and as you said, I am usually the one who wants to reply that I learned the valuble lesson”, but alas, it never really happens

    Like

  2. Hello! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this page to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  3. I just want to say I am newbie to blogs and honestly loved this page. Very likely I’m planning to bookmark your website . You absolutely come with exceptional stories. Regards for sharing your web site.

    Like

Leave a Reply

