Posted in Family, Home, Personal

I Resemble That Remark

If you live near a Kohl’s, you most likely regularly receive those $10 gift cards in the mail that can be used for anything, even clearance items. I love those cards! (If Dallas doesn’t get a hold of it first.) So, with card in hand, I hit up Kohl’s in search of nothing in particular. After trying on 6 things, I settled on a “not-my-usual-style-but-cute-nonetheless” raspberry colored top from the sale section that was priced at $11.20. I was excited because I thought both my daughters would like it and want to borrow it. (I always feel less guilty about spending money on myself when I think the girls will also wear what I’ve purchased.) $2.12 later and I was on my way home!
I walked through the door, pleasantly surprised to find the kids had cleaned the kitchen and living room. I made a beeline for my bedroom to try on my top. Brandon and Mikayla were the only ones home and I asked,

“Do you like my shirt?!” with a big smile on my face.
This is the conversation that ensued:

Mikayla: “Ew, Mooom! That shirt is gross!” (my smiley face fades to sad face)
Brandon: “No Mom, just no. You look like an Asian Pirate that works in a laundromat.” (my sad face turns to confusion)
Me: “I don’t know what that means, but I feel like it might be racist.”
Brandon & Mikayla: *hysterical laughter*
Me: *hangs head*

I immediately close my bedroom door, change clothes, and start googling images of Asian pirates:

Asian Pirate That Works In A Laundromat

The resemblance is uncanny.

 

Author:

I'm a forty-something river goddess, music enthusiast, campground manager, wife, momma to nine, and doting grandmother to four... Mostly, I'm just a gal that has a lot to say.

Leave a Reply

