Posted in Family, Home, Music

Grande Pequeño

I don’t love the ‘work’ part of helping Mikayla with her homework, but I do love the time I get to spend with her. She is unintentionally hilarious. Last nights big assignment was from my least favorite class, Spanish II. She had to pick a person, alive or dead, and write a paragraph about them in English and Spanish. You were supposed to describe their appearance, likes & dislikes, career, where they are from, yada yada yada… you get the idea. So, she hands me the English version and asks for help translating. Her subject?

Biggie Smalls.

Now, I don’t know much about Biggie Smalls and I don’t know much about Spanish II, but I do know how to use Google Translate. I tried that. She wouldn’t let me… apparently that is taboo. She was moving along nicely, using her online textbook for vocabulary words and conjugating verbs while I sat there, perched on my bed being very little help. Dallas was next to me, working on Mikaylas Algebra homework and Brandon was sitting on the floor watching ‘Shipping Wars’ not wanting anything to do with these assignments. When she was done, she read out loud the finished product. I have to admit, it was pretty awesome and she read it with an adorable little accent, but the best part?

When she reached the likes/dislikes…
Biggie Smalls likes música, and dislikes Tupac. That’s right, she said it. When she was done, I asked her, “How do you say 2Pac in Spanish?”

Without missing a beat, she looked me dead in the eye and says,

“Dos Pac.”
We all laughed hysterically and I will never call in to question her Spanish abilities again.
Te amo mucho, Mikayla!

Author:

I'm a forty-something river goddess, music enthusiast, campground manager, wife, momma to eight, and doting grandmother to three... Mostly, I'm just a gal that has a lot to say.

3 thoughts on “Grande Pequeño

Leave a Reply

