Posted in Home, Music, Personal, Work

Starry Starry Night

Even though I share my birthday (March 30th) with some of the greats, the one I have always felt most kindred to was Vincent van Gogh. Secretly, I’ve lived in fear/relief at the thought that I too would leave this earth at the age of 37. My 37th birthday came and went this year without even a sneeze. Believe me, I held my breath on July 29, 2012, fearful that if I drew in any air, it would be my last. Though I have been dealing with this tumor in my head for 3 years now, I can’t say for certain that it will be the cause of my demise. But I’ve always known that what would kill me would be something inside my head, be it a tumor or emotions. I’m the type of person that puts my all into my work, whether it is my job/career or the personal work I do on the side that doesn’t get monetary compensation. So today, as I sit at my desk and work on my next project (to be revealed next week) I was listening to Pandora… Don McLean’s “Vincent” came on and it brought me to tears. I was so full of emotion, I can’t explain why or where it came from. I want to reach across the starry starry night and hold Vinnie’s hand, I want to tell him his work is beautiful and appreciated, I want to tell him I understand. I hope he hears me.

Image

Author:

I'm a forty-something river goddess, music enthusiast, campground manager, wife, momma to eight, and doting grandmother to three... Mostly, I'm just a gal that has a lot to say.

One thought on “Starry Starry Night

Leave a Reply

