Posted in Family, Home, Music, Personal, Relationships

iStupid

My friend Manny once told me, “You can’t put an iPod together overnight, Liz. It takes time.” He was right. Manny was the first person I ran to for help when I got mine because his was full of my favorite music and I borrowed it every chance I had. That was quite a while ago. Once my kids gave me iPod101, I worked hard, over time added all my favorite music, and thus began my love affair with my partner-in-drive… until, one day, I couldn’t find it. Anywhere. I tore apart the cars, the house, my best friend Sandy’s house… nothing. It was gone. Forever. I finally came to peace with the loss of my friend. It took a while to get there, but I mourned her and moved on.

At some point during all of this, my beloved Android phone took a dive and was no longer functional. Frustrated with t-mobile and their lack of assistance, I switched carriers to AT&T and got a new phone. An iPhone to be exact.

Fast forward to last night. Brandon came in my room and asked for an iPod charger. (Seriously though, how the hell do my kids lose every iPod, cell phone, and laptop charger they have ever owned? I’m certain there is some mountainous secret stash of chargers hiding under my house along side the other sock that goes missing from the clothes dryer.)

I gave him my old iPod charger saying, “Well, you can keep it since I don’t have my iPod anymore.”

“Mom, why don’t you just put your music on your iPhone?”

“Because Brandon, I LOST my iPod, remember? I can’t sync them without it,” I said exasperated. (As if he didn’t know it was gone. Everyone in my regular circle had been privy to my search and mourning.)

He let out a frustrated sigh and asked me for my phone and laptop. I gave him everything and in about 5 minutes flat, he handed me my phone and said, “There, now all your music is on your phone.” I stared at him blankly, slowly beginning to understand what he had just done…

Y U NO TELL ME YOU CAN DO THAT?!? (I became a rage comic in my head)

He was laughing at me saying, “How did you not know that, Mom?” I could see it in his eyes. My 16 year old thought I was complete dumbass. How was I supposed to know? I had been faithful and loyal to my Android for so long. And while I’m on the subject, why did it take MONTHS for someone, anyone, to tell me I could do that? I know my kids all knew, I know Sandy’s kids all knew, I know a large majority of my friends all knew. (That includes you, FB friends!) Everyone that is, except me. And they all kept me in the dark and musicless for months. I was both thrilled and pissed at the same time.

So, this morning when I picked up Max for school, I was so excited to tell him the story! We talked all the way to NBHS and didn’t have a chance to listen to any songs. (I converted him a while back and now he is a huge Bowling For Soup fan) I could tell he was secretly judging my lack of iKnowledge, but being the awesome guy he is, he just said he was happy for me with a silly grin on his face. I dropped Max off at school, got to work, closed my Spotify, turned on my music and my phone, and began to sort through files that had been sitting on the back desk in my office. I had put them off for way too long and it was high time I took care of that mess. I got through most of it quickly and when I picked up one of the last remaining files, I felt it. The file was too heavy for paperwork and something was awkwardly sliding around in it. I opened the file and looked inside… Lo & Behold, there it was, my missing iPod.

Image

Author:

I'm a forty-something river goddess, music enthusiast, campground manager, wife, momma to nine, and doting grandmother to four... Mostly, I'm just a gal that has a lot to say.

7 thoughts on “iStupid

  1. honestly, i love the way you write. it is so readable. i just think you should get serious. i know, thats easy for me to say. and i have no way of knowing how agonizing this one essay was for you. but i know you have the spirit, i have seen it in other posts on FB. get to it!!!! you can self-publish on amazon. think about it.

    Like

  2. Awesome! Sometimes friends assume we know how things are done. And, when they finally realize we are in trouble the most painful and obstinate comment blurps out their mouth(s), why didn’t you say something? And, then the only comment I have to respond with is, “Fu$( You!!!”.

    Love you Liz, thanks for brightening my day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

